Modern (Nursery) Art Series: I’m Sad . . . And I Want You To Know It

Stay-at-home mom, Hairee Hayden (1977– ), and urologist, Squeezable Companion (1983- ), number among the most post-modern artistic couples of Huron Village. After meeting at Clink, the tongue-in-cheek named bar inside (ironically) the Liberty Hotel, in 2010, they created a domestic life together based on intellectual, aesthetic, and sexual interests that resulted in Baby and countless fascinating conversations and spontaneous art work. From February 6 to whenever, 2014, Saveur Days Modern (Nursery) Art Series presents the first showcase of their first artistic production. I’m Sad . . . And I Want You To Know It derives its title from a moment of creative brainstorming by SC. He was inspired by documentaries on Netflix about Gerhard Richter and Ushio Shinohara. The Haydens describe the men as, “Fascinating and smelling faintly of fraud–sweet and sickening at the same time. Like ether or cabbage soup.”

The twelve figures in wooden blocks on foam mat—-all of which have never before been shown in public—-were created within minutes while caring for their toddler. Haydens’ figures was curated by Hairee Hayden of Saveur Days. The series reveals the complex interplay between nursery toys and bullshit in the 21st century Cambridge cultural scene.

In her art, Hairee, a progenitor of one infant, reconceives feelings of a suburban culture overflowing with them (babies). Trained at Emerson College for creative writing, she quickly shifted from a writing career to a stunningly pedestrian lifestyle of mommyhood that reflected her interests in raising her son. Hairee has a self-described Romantic sensibility, one that values the transformative power of the imagination above all else. In collaboration with her husband–she calls them, “fart art” because they are spontaneous and stinky and silent–they created mind-bending and -numbing juxtapositions, employing images lifted from whim.

Known as the man with a hundred ideas, SC appreciates all forms of po-mo imagination. He is a voracious reader of everything from First Aid For The USMLE Step 3 to Machine Shop Practice, volume one and two, to I Hope They Serve Beer In Hell. His method, inspired by the ennui of play time, combines motifs and themes from his engineering background. Although not widely known, SC’s Play Doh creations made in collaboration with his son provide a fascinating backdrop to his figures. Recalling works by Gerhard Richter and Ushio Shinohara with their squeegees and sponge strapped boxing gloves, respectively, SC’s abstract figures confirm his belief in the protean nature of blocks. Like Hairee, SC believes in metamorphosis as a guiding beacon even if it terrifies him.

At their apartment in Huron Village, Hairee and SC fought and won the space that fosters creativity and inspires a generation of Cambridge area moms and dads to cut loose and make play time fun for them and their babies. The couple fills all one floor of their single floor apartment with books and furniture, books and furniture in the living room, books and furniture in the dining room, and books and furniture in the baby’s room. All remaining walls are covered with family photos or are left bare. They own several musical instruments.

By focusing on the artistic production and relationship between Hairee and SC, this exhibition presents imaginative works that catalyzed an entire evening of fun for the whole family. “We want to encourage this kind of creativity in Baby,” says Hairee. “Modern expression with simple materials, embracing experimentation while redefining aesthetic narrative, thinking outside of the block, so to speak.” Their works in this exhibition collectively demonstrate this hope of radical and facile experimentation. Focusing on the rich intellectual and emo world spun by Hairee and SC, I’m Sad…And I Want You To Know It features art with a refreshingly similar set of values from mainstream art fare and spotlights a key moment in the derivative and mocking take on postmodernism in the nursery.

Sponsorship:
I’m Sad . . . And I Want You To Know It was organized by the Saveur Days Modern (Nursery) Art Series. The presentation is made possible by the free and generous support of Saveur Days blog.

About the Saveur Days Modern (Nursery) Art Series:
The Saveur Days Modern (Nursery) Art Series is located at http://www.saveurdays.com on the Internet. It offers the Saveur Days community and the general public a dynamic roster of engaging and thought-provoking work, all recent posts enriched by parenting. With its emphasis on toddlerhood, motherhood, interpretation, and its focus on exploring whatever there is time for at the end of the day in its parental, cultural, and social contexts, the Saveur Days serves as a laboratory for the exploration of art as comedy.

General Information:
Saveur Days Modern (Nursery) Art Series, www.saveurdays.com
Email: saveurdays@gmail.com

Hours:
All hours of the day, Monday-Sunday.

Admission: Free of charge

* * *

Saveur Days’ Modern (Nursery) Art Series Presents
 
I’m Sad…And I Want You To Know It

  

I'm Sad...And I Want You To Know It #3
I’m Sad…And I Want You To Know It #3: Interracialness
I'm Sad...And I Want You To Know It #12
I’m Sad…And I Want You To Know It #12: Romeo And Juliet
I'm Sad...And I Want You To Know It #45
I’m Sad…And I Want You To Know It #45: Time After Time
I'm Sad...And I Want You To Know It #34
I’m Sad…And I Want You To Know It #34: Lady Gaga
I'm Sad...And I Want You To Know It #22
I’m Sad…And I Want You To Know It #22: You Complete Me
I'm Sad...And I Want You To Know It #7
I’m Sad…And I Want You To Know It #7: Sixteen Going On Seventeen
I'm Sad...And I Want You To Know It #26
I’m Sad…And I Want You To Know It #26: What We Talk About When We Talk About Love
I'm Sad...And I Want You To Know It #21
I’m Sad…And I Want You To Know It #21: When Harry Met Sally
I'm Sad...And I Want You To Know It #20.1
I’m Sad…And I Want You To Know It #20.1: When Harry Didn’t Meet Sally
I'm Sad...And I Want You To Know It #62
I’m Sad…And I Want You To Know It #62: Passion
I'm Sad...And I Want You To Know It #14.2
I’m Sad…And I Want You To Know It #14.2: 14.2
I'm Sad...And I Want You To Know It #62
I’m Sad…And I Want You To Know It #62: Mrs Dalloway

2 thoughts on “Modern (Nursery) Art Series: I’m Sad . . . And I Want You To Know It

Leave a Reply

