Saveur Days Recipe #12: Green Smoothie

Green smoothie

So before I get to the yummy part of this recipe blog, let’s talk about pregnancy/postpartum constipation.

This post’s a bit scatological so consider yourself warned. Although if you’re a parent, then poop is a way of life.

While pregnant, I had to start taking stool softeners all through the second and third trimester. I thought once Baby was born my bowl movements would return to a healthy diurnal normal. When it didn’t my OB told me that breast feeding draws enormous amounts of water from my body including my intestines and so I needed to drink a lot of water. But no amount of water seemed to be enough. So while I was counting and logging the dirty nappies of my newborn, I was counting my own.

Baby loves his green smoothie
My smoothie. Don’t even think about asking me to share.

Then my sister got into green smoothies. She turned my mom onto it and and then introduced me to it and, oh boy, I was giving Baby a run for his money. No pun intended.

I then turned Squeezable Companion onto it to his initial chagrin. And Baby came on board once he started eating solids. Now the whole family’s gone green and regular.

Be warned, it will feel like a pain in the ass at first. The planning it takes with the many ingredients involved can seem like an added chore to an already busy day with a baby/job/housekeeping/blogging/baby/baby/baby, but once you get the ingredients in place and a routine going, making green smoothies every day becomes a habit much like waking up at six every morning with Baby and seeing his beaming face when you walk into his room: totally worth it.

Also, you can pretty much add whatever ingredient you want. I try to stick with light or green colored fruit to keep the smoothie looking, well, green. If you add red colored berries or even a carrot, the green color gets muddled and looks like, well, poop.

I like to freeze as many of the ingredients beforehand, which makes the activation energy of making the smoothie stay low. These include, but are not limited to:

1. Bananas. Buy plenty and let them go ripe. Peel them and put each one into separate Ziploc bags for individual servings.

Bagged and frozen banana

2. Ginger. Wash and slice into quarter inch pieces and use about three slices per blenderful of smoothie.
3. Kale and spinach. Get the frozen chopped stuff which won’t go bad and works as well in the smoothie as the fresh stuff. And keeps all the nutrition besides.

Frozen chopped kale

4. Pineapple and mango chunks. I get mine from Costco. The chunks are nice and big.
5. Milled flax seed. I store it in a Ziploc container with a plastic tablespoon in the container and keep it in the fridge.
6. Avocado. Once they get ripe, you can either store them in the fridge or you can store each half, peeled and pitted in Ziploc bags just like the bananas.

Still interested? Then here’s the recipe.

Oh and I don’t use stool softeners anymore.


Green Smoothie (Adapted from Sister’s recipe.)

Serves 3.5 (I have one in the morning and one mid-afternoon. The other one is for SC and the .5 is for Baby.)

1 fuji apple, quartered and cored
1/2 lemon, peel and all
1/2 avocado, peeled and pitted
2 tablespoons milled flax seed
1 frozen banana, peeled and cut into chunks
1/2 cup frozen pineapple chunks
1/2 cup frozen mango chunks
3 1/4inch slices of frozen ginger
1 cup frozen chopped kale and spinach
Water enough to cover ingredients

Put everything into a heavy duty blender. (I use Blendtec after I burned out the Magic Bullet.) Blend. Glug glug glug.

Green smoothie

For more photos, go to Flickr.

2 thoughts on “Saveur Days Recipe #12: Green Smoothie

Leave a Reply

