Prego Phood #2: Mixed Berry Pie

With the renaissance of my love for berries in the form of smoothies, this prego has been trying to find other ways of consuming the favored fruit. Since my foray into pie making ended so well with my first apple pie last week, I thought I would try a berry version.

Now a while back, Squeezable Companion’s mother or now my mother-in-law, made a berry pie with a crumble topping during a visit with her son. So this recipe is an adaptation of her pie.

There’s a lot going on in those first two paragraphs.

One: I’m baking pies. I’m doing what? What is going on here? I feel the way about baking pies from scratch the way I feel about making your own bread: who really does that except granolas and grandmothers who want to turn back time and live in the pilgrims’ village? I mean even my mother-in-law, who can bake like Sara Lee on speed during the Christmas season, used a pre-made pie shell. So I’m baking pies now and they’re friggin’ delicious. Ambivalence ensues.

Two: I’m making smoothies for breakfast. Who has time for breakfast except college students and retirees at the retirement center? Unemployed pregos. I love the smoothies and I hate being unemployed. Again, ambivalence.

Three: I’m calling my mother-in-law for pie recipe.

The single-not-prego me regards the married-prego me with a bit of wonder, alarm, and amusement. She’s relieved not to be me because she’s never nauseous and she’ll still be slender and fabulous in six months, but she’s completely fascinated, living vicariously through me.

The m-p me glances over at the s-n-p me a little wistfully. I’m a little embarrassed by the pie making and putting on my best Martha Stewart face–serene, confident, unabashedly maternal–but I’m feeling a little bit like Martha too–powerful, crafty, former felon.

And besides, this pie is so bad-ass. The s-n-p me’s got her face smashed against the window, subconsciously licking the glass, wishing she could get her s-n-p hands on a slice of m-p pie.

Living vicariously is lame, I say to her with my mouth full of pie.


Mixed Berry Pie (Crust adapted from allrecipes.com and filling adapted from Culinary Musings, and crumble topping adapted from Donette Hayden’s recipe)
Serves 1 to 8

For the crust:
1-1/4 cups all-purpose flour
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup (1 stick) butter, chilled and diced
5 tbsp ice water

For the filling:
1 cup of frozen strawberries, thawed and drained
1 cup of frozen raspberries, thawed and drained
1 cup of frozen blackberries, thawed and drained
1 cup of frozen blueberries, thawed and drained
1/4 cup sugar
3 tbsp flour
zest of one lemon
juice of one lemon
1/4 tsp of kosher salt
1-1/2 tbsp of butter

For the crumble topping:
3/8 cup (3/4 of a stick) of butter
1/3 cup of flour
1/2 cup of brown sugar
1 tsp of cinnamon

To make the crust: (Do this 1 hours before putting the pie together.)

This is the same crust I made for the apple pie but just half the amount since the crust is only used on the bottom of the pie.

In a large bowl, combine flour and salt.

Cut in butter using a pastry cutter until mixture resembles coarse crumbs. Mix in water using a metal spoon, a tablespoon at a time, until mixture forms a ball. Wrap in plastic and chill for an hour.

To make the crumble topping:

Using the pastry cutter again, cut the butter into the brown sugar, cinnamon, and flour until the butter is about pea sized lumps.

To make the filling and pie:

Preheat oven to 425°F.

Drain the thawed berries and add lemon zest, lemon juice, flour, salt, and sugar and mix carefully so that you don’t crush the berries.

Roll out dough on a lightly floured surface into a 12″ round. Fit round of dough into a 9″ pie plate and pinch in the excess dough to make a fairly nice looking pie trim.

Transfer filling to the pie plate and use a spoon to distribute evenly.

Place butter bits over the filling. Spread crumb topping over the berry filling. I forgot to add the cinnamon into the topping mixture so I just sprinkled some on directly on top of the crumble.

Bake for 20 minutes. Then reduce heat to 350˚ and continue baking until crust is golden brown, about 40 minutes more. Transfer to a rack and let cool for 2 hours before serving.

For more photos, go to Flickr.

Photos taken with my new iPhone 4S, a birthday gift from Sister. XOXO.

2 thoughts on “Prego Phood #2: Mixed Berry Pie

Leave a Reply

